SANDESH - January 2018 Issue

Upcoming Events

- ❖ Feed the Hunger Feb 18th
- ❖ NSF Bee Mar 17th & 18th
- This is our first edition of Sandesh (the e-newsletter for IAN) for 2018.
- Please welcome the new IAN committee, headed by President Mrs. Malathi Balu.
- Members of the 2018 Committee
- The first Executive Committee (EC) meeting was held on 1/20/18 at the Hindu temple.
- The meeting was well attended and various agenda items were discussed.
- The committee will continue to meet every third Sunday of the month.

Membership

- Please support India Association of Nebraska by paying current membership or becoming a Life Member by using the link below
- http://www.indiaassociationofnebraska.org/Membership.aspx
- ❖ Your membership is tax deductible as IAN is a non-profit organization.

President's Message



Dear Friends,

I am extremely honored to have been elected as the President of the India Association of Nebraska for 2018. I am proud to be a part of an excellent committee that is eagerly working on the activities for the year.

IAN Committee will focus on three items for 2018

- 1. Increase IAN's visibility by getting involved with other local organizations.
- 2. Involve the future of IAN which is the youth members in what IAN does and also do more programs for youth community.
- 3. Increase the quality of the IAN programs.

Stephen Center Feed the Hunger is already filled in for the entire year. I would like to thank all the sponsors for the support. I would like to extend my heartfelt appreciation to all the committee members and volunteers for their hard work, time and support.

Please support IAN and feel free to contact me at president@indiaassociationofnebraska.org for any help and or with any suggestions on how we as an organization can do better things for the benefit of the community.

Thank you,

Malathi Balu

President

Republic Day Highlights

The India Association of Nebraska proudly celebrated the India's 69th Republic Day Event on Jan 27th, 2018 at the Hindu Temple of Omaha. Douglas County Commissioner **Mary Ann Borgeson** presided over the function.

The event started with the Indian and American flag hoisting, followed by the respective National Anthems and then on to presentation of colorful cultural programs and rendition of patriotic songs. Fancy dress competition was held for the age group from 4 years to 13 years.

The Chief Guest along with the entire Indian Community enjoyed the glimpse of the cultural diversity showcased as part of the program. Fancy Dress Competition was loved by performers and spectators equally.

Fancy Dress Competition Winners

Group - I (Ages 4 - 6) - Devan Nandagopal (1st), Aditi Chitta(2nd), Ritishvar Ramesh(3rd)

Group - II (Ages 7 - 9) - Rakshith Seetharaman(1st), Shravan Dev(2nd), Sanika Rao (3rd)

Group - III (Ages 10 - 13) - Arjun Nair(1st), Partha Chaturvedi(2nd)



Fancy Dress Competition

Food Drive

On occasion of Republic Day, India Association of Nebraska organized a food drive for the *Foodbank for the Heartland* with the help of the community members. The initiative helped us donate 120 pounds of food which comprised of canned foods and cereals.

Republic Day Event Pictures

Feed the Hunger

Feed the hunger program is one of the many community service events organized and coordinated by IAN. IAN has been supporting the feed the hunger program for over 12 years. It is conducted 3rd Sunday of every month by IAN volunteers. You can sign up online for any month

http://www.indiaassociationofnebraska.org/ShowFeedHunger.aspx

Executive Board Members - 2018

President	Mrs. Malathi Balu
President Elect	Dr. Sushama Kunnathil
Past President	Mr. Kantharaja Etigi
Secretary	Mrs. Anitha Teekaraman
Asst. Secretary	Mr.Manoj Rajappan
Treasurer	Mr. Nagesh Kuriyavar
Asst. Treasurer	Mr.Ratish Gopal
Cultural	Mr. Arul Nambi
Permanent Member	Dr. Syed Mohiuddin
Permanent Member	Dr. Alekha Dash
Member	Mr. Arul Nambi
Member	Mr. Amit Pandey
Member	Mrs. Chhaya Gayee
Member	Mrs. Roshni Rao
Member	Mrs. Sudha Sivamani
Member	Mrs. Sneha Shah
Member	Mr. Tirumala Chengalasetty

Committee - 2018

Committee	Chair	Co-chair	Advisor / Members
Banquet	Mr. Chidambaranathan Alagar	Mrs.Keerthi Ranjit	Mrs. Chhaya Gayee Mrs.Anitha Teekaraman
Community Service	Mr. Sundar Chokkara	Mr. Manoj Rajappan	Dr. Alekha Dash Mr.Arul Nambi Mr.Sridher Swaminathan Mrs.Laghuta Arora
Cultural	Mr.Arul Nambi	Mrs. Gaythri Ram Mrs. Aswathy Nair	Mrs.Sudha Sivamani Mrs.Sneha Shah Mr. Chidambaranathan Alagar
Education	Mr. Ravikumar Kalyanasundaram	Mrs.Sudha Sivamani Mrs. Anupa Kamat	Mr.Tirumala Chengalasetty Mrs.Sneha Shah Dr.Meera Varman
Health Fair	Mrs.Anitha Teekaraman	Mr. Manoj Rajappan	Dr.Chandra Are Dr.Meera Varman Dr.Sushama Kunnathil
Emergency Response	Mr.Murali Chintallapali	Mr. Sundar Chokkara	Mrs.Malathi Balu Mr.Gopi Krishnan Dr.Meera Varman
Finance	Mr. Nagesh Kuriyavar	Mr.Ratish Gopal	Mrs.Malathi Balu Dr. Alekha Dash
Information Technology	Mr.Karthi Pragasam	Mr. Vijayakumar Murugesan Mr.Anup Dharia Mariswamy	Mr.Kantharaj Etigi
Long Range Planning committee	Dr. Sanjay Singh	Dr.Phani T Adidam	Mr. Sundar Chokkara Dr. Sushama Kunnathil Mrs. Malathi Balu Mr.Kantharaj Etigi Past Presidents
Membership	Mrs. Anupa Kamat	Mrs.Sneha Shah	Mrs.Chhaya Gayee Mrs.Roshni Rao Mr.Manish Jaiswal Mr.Jagmohan Bhatia
Publications	Mrs. Gaythri Ram	Mrs. Roshni Rao	
Nomination	Mr.Kantharaj Etigi	Dr.Meera Varman	Mrs.Malathi Balu Mr.Srini Mallipudi Mr.Murali Chitanappalli Dr.Phani T Adidam Dr.Sanjay Singh

Public Relations	Dr.Sushma Kunnathil	Mr. Arun Prasad Kothandaraman	Mr.Gopi Krishnan
Youth & Sport	Mr.Amit Pandey	Mrs. Shital Kontamwar	Mrs. Roshni Rao Mr. Chidambaranathan Alagar Mrs.Amulya Bhantharam
Volunteer	Mr. Tirumala Chengalasetty	Mr.Bharath Mudhapati	Mrs.Chhaya Gayee Mrs. Roshni Rao Mr.Amit Pandey Mr. Manoj Rajappan
Event Planning	Mrs.Malathi Balu	Dr.Sushama Kunnathil	Elected Members
Volunteer Recognition	Mrs.Malathi Balu	Dr.Sushama Kunnathil	Elected Members
University Liason			
Backstage	Mr.Magesh Mani Prabhu	Mrs.Amulya Bhantharam Mrs.Elakiya Harish	Mrs.Kavitha Mallaya Mr. Arun Prasad Kothandaraman Mr.Sai Charan Mrs.Lekhya Sai
Flyer/Poster Design	MRS	Mrs.Keerthi Ranjit	Mrs.Anitha Teekaraman
Sponsorship / Food	Mr.Ganesh Naik	Mr.Ramasubramaniam	Mr.Sanjeevi Mariappan
External Affairs	Mr.Gopi Krishnan	Mr. Srinivas Mallipudi	Mr.Joseph Selvaraj Mr.Murali Chintallapali
Photo/Video	Mr.Harish Rajakumar	Mr.Jai Ganesh	
Audio	Mr.Vijay Anand Kannan	Mr.Jayaram Nagarajan	
Poster/Flyers printing and display	Mr. Vijayakumar Murugesan	Mr.Bharath Mudhapati	